Scottish Premiership API

The Scottish Premiership is the highest football division in Scotland. Get all the data you need with the Scottish Premiership API. This league is one of the two leagues that’s available in our Free Plan.

Cinch Premiership

The Scottish Premiership, known as the cinch Premiership, is the top division of the Scottish Professional Football League. There are 12 teams in this division, each playing 38 matches per season. Rangers and Celtic are the two top football teams in Scotland. Celtic are the current league champions, having won the 2022-23 season, but Rangers is the record champion with 55 league titles.

  • 12 Scottish football teams
  • Historical data back to the 2005/2006 season
  • Included in the Free Plan

Domination by ‘The Old Firm’

The Scottish Premiership has been dominated by two Glasgow clubs during its existence, Celtic and Rangers. The game between those rivals is known as ‘The Old Firm’. Rangers are the record Champions with 55 championships. Celtic are close behind and have 53 championships. Both clubs managed a run of nine consecutive championships. Since its existence, only nine other clubs have won the remaining 19 championships. Go to the Head 2 Head or Rivals endpoints to find more information about ‘The Old Firm’.


All-time Premiership top scorers

Kris Boyd is the all-time leading top scorer in Scottish top-flight football. He scored 222 goals; the Scottish striker did this for Kilmarnock and Rangers. He scored over 100 goals in four and a half seasons for Rangers. Boyd helped Rangers with his goals to two Premiership titles and four Scottish Cups. Henrik Larson is in second place with 158 goals. The Swede made his goals for Celtic and is one of the greatest who played in Scotland. Leigh Griffiths comes third with 120 goals; he played for Hibernian and Celtic.

Try for free

Rivals endpoint: Old Rivalry

Retrieve the rivals from your favourite club with the rivals endpoint. Here is an example of ‘The Old Firm’.

"data": {
"id": 53,
"legacy_id": 152,
"name": "Celtic",
"short_code": "CEL",
"twitter": null,
"country_id": 1161,
"national_team": false,
"founded": 1888,
"logo_path": "",
"venue_id": 8909,
"current_season_id": 19735,
"is_placeholder": false,
"rivals": {
"data": [
"id": 62,
"legacy_id": 703,
"name": "Rangers",
"short_code": "RAN",
"twitter": null,
"country_id": 1161,
"national_team": false,
"founded": 1873,
"logo_path": "",
"venue_id": 8914,
"current_season_id": 19735,
"is_placeholder": false


Scottish Premiership Teams

Below you can find all the team information of the teams competing in the 2022/2023 season of the cinch Premiership.

The Celtic Football Club, also known as Celtic, was founded in 1887. The club, which is based in Glasgow, has won the league title 52 times, the Scottish Cup 40 times and the League cup 20 times. Celtic became the first British team to win the UEFA Champions League in 1966-67. The Scottish Premiership champions have a long-standing rivalry with Rangers, this rivalry is known as the Old Firm.

Hearts of Midlothian Football Club, commonly known as Hearts, was founded in 1874. The club is from Edinburgh and is the oldest and most successful club in the Scottish capital. Hearts were Scottish Premiership champions four times, won the Scottish Cup eight times and the League Cup four times.

Dundee United Football Club is a club which was founded in 1909 as Dundee Hibernian. The club changed their name to its present name in 1923. The club plays games at Tannadice Park; they have played in this stadium since their foundation. Dundee won the league once, the Scottish Cup twice, and the League Cup twice. The club has a rivalry with Dundee FC; this is geographically the closest derby in Britain.

Livingston Football Club was founded in 1943 and is based in Livingston. The club was founded as Ferranti Thistle, was renamed Meadowbank Thistle and played their matches until 1995 in Edinburgh. In 1995, the club was relocated to Livingston and was renamed after the town. Since then, they’ve played their games at the Almondvale Stadium. Livingston won the League Cup once.

Ross County Football Club is a Scottish football club founded in 1929 and based in Dingwall. They play their home games at Victoria Park. Ross County won the League Cup once.

St Johnstone Football Club is a football club from Perth and was founded in 1884. The home venue from St Johnstone is McDiarmid Park. St Johnstone’s rivals are the two Clubs from Dundee. The club won two Scottish Cups and one League Cup.

Rangers Football Club was founded in 1872 and played their home games at the Ibrox Stadium. The Rangers are the most successful club in the history of Scottish football. They’ve won the league 55 times, the Scottish Cup 34 times and the League Cup 27 times. Rangers won the UEFA Europa League once. Rangers have a long-standing rivalry with Celtic; this derby is known as the Old Firm.

Aberdeen Football Club competes in the Scottish Premiership and has never been relegated from the top tier since its promotion in 1905. They have won four league titles, seven Scottish Cups and six Scottish League Cups. Aberdeen is the only Scottish team to have won two European trophies. The club reached their prime under the management of Sir Alex Ferguson. Aberdeen is the last club outside the Old Firm to win a league title.

Hibernian Football Club, commonly known as Hibs, was founded in 1875. The Hibs have a rivalry with Hearts, with whom they contest the Edinburgh derby. The club played their home games at Easter Road. This stadium has been used since 1893. Hibernian have won the Scottish League title four times, the Scottish Cup three times and the League Cup three times too. The Hibs were the first British team to participate in a European competition.

Kilmarnock Football Club, commonly known as Killie, was founded in 1869. Kilmarnock is currently the oldest football club in the Scottish Premiership and the second-oldest club in Scottish football. The club played in the first-ever match in the Scottish Cup. Their home venue is Rugby Park, which has a capacity of 18,128 fans. Furthermore, Kilmarnock is a one-time Scottish Premiership winner. They’ve also won the Cup three times and the League Cup once.

Motherwell Football Club was founded in 1886 and promoted to the top tier in 1985 and hasn’t been relegated since then. The club plays their home games at the Fir Park Stadium. The club were the Scottish Champions once, won the Cup twice, and the League Cup once.

St Mirren Football Club was founded in 1877 and played their home games at St Mirren Park. The club from Mirren have won the Scottish Cup three times and the League Cup once.